Johns Creek Student Ambassadors

September 1, 2023 - New Secretary of State Team Named for 2023-24
Congratulations to the following students for being named to the Secretary of State Ambassador team representing Student Leadership Johns Creek for 2023-24:
Charlotte Perry - Centennial High School
Rohan Mistry - Northview High School
David Cooper - Chattahoochee High School
Sana Fatima - Innovation Academy
Maggie Dowd - Johns Creek High School
Riya Havanur - Northview High School
Lakshana Ramanan - Innovation Academy
Tiffany Obasohan - Johns Creek High School
Neha Gurram - Northview High School
Girish Senthilkumar - Northview High School (alternate member)

June 8, 2022 - New Secretary of State Ambassador Team Named for 2022-23
Congratulations to the following students for being named to the Secretary of State Ambassador team representing Student Leadership Johns Creek for 2022-23:
Alisha Kohli - Innovation Academy
Aria Smith - Chattahoochee High School
Brady Carnesale - Johns Creek High School
Varsha Nirmal - Northview High School
Nicholas Stone - Chattahoochee High School
Shruthi Balachander - Northview High School
Lakshana Ramanan - Innovation Academy
Tiffany Obasohan - Johns Creek High School
Neha Gurram - Northview High School

After winning the Secretary of State Ambassadors State Championship for the fourth time, the student ambassadors were presented with the State Championship trophy on May 16th at the City of Johns Creek City Hall by Secretary of State Brad Raffensperger. According to Tara Ramesh from Northview High School, a member of the championship team, “We worked incredibly hard to increase civic engagement in our city and win the competition so it was an amazing reward to be presented with the trophy in front of our city council and be able to share our favorite moments throughout the year from the competition.” In addition, the students all received a Proclamation from Johns Creek Mayor Bradberry and the City Council recognizing their tremendous civic achievements that culminated in another state championship for Student Leadership Johns Creek.” Poorvi Iyer, also a member of the team, probably summed it up best, "This experience, from hosting registration drives to participating in the Student Public Safety Academy, has allowed me to truly understand the civic responsibility that I have as a Johns Creek resident. To receive this trophy directly from the Secretary of State reminded me of all this ambassador team has accomplished and what I must continue to display outside of this program; it was a true honor."
When presenting the Proclamation, Mayor Pro-Tem Chris Coughlin reflected on all the hard work the students did during the year including hosting two candidate debates and numerous voter registration drives. In addition, they worked directly with the Johns Creek police and fire departments as the beta class for the first Johns Creek Student Public Safety Academy. According to Secretary of State Brad Raffensperger “It was an honor to present the first-place trophy to Student Leadership Johns Creek. We’re thankful for these young citizens and their diligent service to their community.” Also in attendance at the trophy presentation was former mayor Mike Bodker.
This was the fourth win by the Secretary of State Ambassadors representing Student Leadership Johns Creek.  The Secretary of State Ambassadors Program is a leadership training program for high school students in the 10th through 12th grades that encourages civic participation and voter registration.  Students who serve as Ambassadors earn points for promoting civic engagement, voter registration and volunteerism. Student Leadership Johns Creek won the competition by over 150,000 points to the next closest team from Northview High School meaning the top two teams in the statewide competition were both from Johns Creek.
The nine Ambassadors are students at Northview, Chattahoochee, Centennial, Johns Creek high schools and Innovation Academy: Anastacia Stoyanov, Harrison Frank, Aashwin Sharma, Shruti Nemala, Tara Ramesh, Tiya Ranchod, Peter Gottschalk, Ava Sun and Poorvi Iyer.  

Award Ceremony 5-16-2022

Photos from Award Ceremony 5-16-2022 

June 14, 2021 - NEW TEAM ANNOUNCED FOR 2021-22
Aashwin Sharma - Johns Creek
Anastacia Stoyanov - Chattahoochee
Ava Sun - Johns Creek
Harrison Frank - Centennial
Peter Gottschalk - Johns Creek
Poorvi Iyer - Northview
Shruti Nemala - Chattahoochee
Tara Ramesh - Northview
Tiya Ranchod - Innovation Academy

2021-22 Secretary of State Ambassadors Events:

9-27-2021 - Award Presentation to Mayor Bodker and Council Members Zaprowski and Endres
9-27-2021 - Peter Gottschalk speaks to City Council

September 23 Mayoral Debate
AJC Article about Debate
Johns Creek Herald Article about Debate
Johns Creek Candidates Face Off - AJC Article

9-13-2021 City Council Meeting

8-30-2021 City Council Meeting


Nine students from Student Leadership Johns Creek represent Johns Creek as part of the Secretary of State Ambassadors Program. They have been working virtually since late July to plan many civic activities including two candidate debates between House Seat 50 candidates Jay Lin and Angelika Kausche and Senate Seat 48 candidates Matt Reeves and Michelle Au.  Both events were held virtually.

The goal of the Ambassadors Program is to provide high school students an opportunity to engage as leaders within their school and community. Through this program, the students gain leadership experience by learning about and teaching Georgia civics to their peers, learning about voter registration, and promoting and encouraging other students and residents of Johns Creek to register to vote. The SLJC students work individually and as a team to create a dialogue that gets first-time voters educated, excited, and engaged in the election process.

The 2020-21 Student Leadership Johns Creek Secretary of State Ambassadors are: Ty Davalbhakta, Omer Mujawar, Mehar Nemani, Elizabeth Douglas, Charlotte Lichtenfeld, Ashutosh Chakragiri, Aditi Mohan, Akhila Yellapragada and Janice Nam. Tina Dong, a 2019-20 Ambassador will serve as the team's assistant director.

2020-21 Ambassador Virtual Activities:

Mehar Nemani speaking to city council

Ty Davalbhakta speaking to city council

Candidate Debate - September 30, 2020

Georgia District 48 Candidate Debate

Women in Government - 11-12-2020 - Lynne Riley

Women in Government - 11-12-2020 - Linda McCain

Women in Government - 11-12-2020 - Judge Rachelle Carnesale

Women in Government - 11-12-2020 - District Attorney Fani Willis

Women in Government - 11-12-2020 - Fulton County Commissioner Liz Hausmann

Women in Government - 11-12-2020 - Dr. Lynn Paxton

Women in Government - 11-12-2020 - Patty Hansen and Allison Blakenship

Virtual Voter Registration

Leadership Challenge - Charlotte Lichtenfeld

Leadership Challenge - Mehar Nemani

Leadership Challenge - Omer Mujawar

Leadership Challenge - Ty Davalbhakta

Impacts of Remote Learning

Environment Panel Discussion

Welcome Class of 2023

International Women's Day - 3-8-2021 Webinar

Women in STEM discussion

Welcome and Introduction to Program for Class of 2023

Virtual Graduation Video from SOS Ambassadors

Virtual State Championship Awards Ceremony


Secretary of State Ambassadors WIN District 6 Competition and Second in State


For the third straight year the Student Leadership Johns Creek Ambassadors won their District 6 championship and came in 2nd in the State Competition. Congratulations to our student leaders for a job well done.